Radiated Wasteland

UPDATE: Looks like they’ve changed the name to Mutant Badlands. The old links will still redirect you to the new site.

I recently joined PostApoc.net, a directory of websites, blogs, and services related to the post-apocalyptic genre. Today I received an e-mail invite to the Radiated Wasteland beta-test.

Radiated Wasteland is a free browser-based MMORPG from Pixel Pandemic. The developers describe it as follows:

In a future not far from now, Earth has been set in f lames. The once civilized world is now a radiated wasteland. As a player you are one of the few survivors facing the challenges of a postapocalyptic world, fighting against radiated ghouls, fierce mutants and merciless raiders. To survive, players must establish their own safe houses, team up and scavenge for scarce resources.

Although I’ve never played any of the popular MMORPGs, I have a soft spot for browser-based offerings based on my enjoyment of the (minimalist) Urban Dead game.

So I logged on and made a character and was promptly eaten by mutant rats. (It was actually cooler than I make it sound.) Concept and graphics were awesome; there are a couple fiddly bits in the interface but nothing critical (and it is a beta-test).

Anyhow, consider this a plug for both PostApoc.net and Radiated Wasteland. I’ll post my thoughts later after I play some more.

Leave a Reply

